Egg and Chorizo Breakfast Tacos

20150608_162042

Like a lot of people, when I have a day off, I’m torn between the desire to make a big, filling breakfast and the desire to plant my butt in bed and not come out until I have to. These breakfast tacos are protein-heavy, filling, flavorful, and really fast and easy, making them perfect for those lazy mornings. (Especially if I’ve had a bit to drink the night before.) It’s very important to use Mexican-style chorizo, a crumbly sausage that comes in a plastic casing that you cut open, rather than the Spanish-style smoked chorizo. I get the packs that are 6 small links for a total of 1 pound, and it’s enough for several meals for us.

Huevos con chorizo is a very common Mexican dish, but that typically includes onion and extra peppers, and is served with rice and beans. It’s something I like a lot, but for breakfast at home, I go with this simplified version.

Egg and Chorizo Breakfast Tacos (serves 2)

2 links (just over 5 ounces) Mexican-style chorizo, removed from casings
4 eggs
Generous pinch of sazón (a Latin American seasoning mix that I put in just about everything–I prefer Goya brand Culantro y Achiote flavor)
6 flour tortillas (can also substitute 12 corn tortillas and double them to make the tacos)
Crumbled queso fresco (if you like crumbly, white cheeses–feta also works) or shredded cheddar cheese
Your favorite salsa, bottled or homemade
Cilantro, crema mexicana or sour cream, and lime wedges, optional

Brown up the chorizo in a large skillet, breaking it up as you go. It’s darker and fattier than most sausages, so you’ll definitely have a good bit of grease coming off, and it’s going to look really dark in color when it’s done. Beat the eggs in a bowl with the sazón, then pour over the chorizo and cook as for scrambled eggs.

Fill the tortillas with the eggs and meat, and top with your preferred cheese. I like the dry, crumbly queso fresco, but today I had sharp cheddar on hand, and that works. I usually like to top it with some homemade salsa, crema mexicana (kind of like sour cream, but thinner) and some chopped cilantro, but today all I had on hand was bottled salsa, and it was fine. I also like to squeeze a lime wedge over the top.

I have this with a cup of coffee and/or some orange juice, and I’m ready to deal with whatever my day throws at me. It only takes a few minutes, and it’s absolutely delicious.

 
2 thoughts on “Egg and Chorizo Breakfast Tacos

Leave a Reply

