30 Days of Scent, Day 24: Dolce and Gabbana Rose The One

If you’ve been reading this whole series, you know how much I like a rose note in my scents. Dolce and Gabbana’s Rose The One ($68-86, Ulta) is no exception. I like the entire The One line, but this one is my favorite of the three.

After the very fleeting opening of grapefruit, blackcurrant, and mandarin, the rose-lychee heart with some peony and lily feels like being enveloped by a soft pink cloud. The lychee note is a prominent one in the original The One and in The One Desire, but I like it best in combination with the rose. The addition of peony and lily keep it light and not too fruity, while a hint of lily-of-the-valley hangs out in the background. At the base, it’s vanilla and amber (much like the other The One fragrances) with musk, sandalwood, and ambrette seed.

I like to wear an extra spray of this one, just because the projection of it is pretty soft. With that, it lasts a good 6 hours or so. This is a very feminine, romantic scent that just makes me feel pretty when I wear it. I give it 8.5/10, and would rate it higher if the projection were a little better. If you’re going to get it, though, get it soon, because the rumor I’m hearing is that it’s being discontinued.

Leave a Reply

