30 Days of Scent, Day 22: Yardley Royal English Daisy

It always amuses me how many fragrances have the word “daisy” in the title, because wild shasta daisies don’t have a scent at all, and flower-shop daisies are in the chrysanthemum family and smell…well, less than pleasant. In most cases, including Yardley Royal English Daisy ($19, Amazon) that’s a light, fruity-green floral.

I’m not really a fan of this one. For some reason I’ve ended up with quite a few scents that have an apple top note, and apple isn’t a note I really enjoy. While there are Yardley scents I enjoy, this one is not among them. The green notes and apple in the opening smell slightly like children’s shampoo (not baby shampoo, but the cartoon-character shampoo with the green apple scent that my friend’s son used to use). In the heart, the rose, a note I love, is overpowered by the hyacinth, which I don’t particularly like. The sandalwood/white musk base is nondescript and could belong to any one of a dozen scents I’ve worn.

The performance isn’t anything to write home about, either. It’s a skin scent after an hour and gone completely after three. I’m sure this fragrance could have been done well. It wasn’t. I give it a 5/10, and that’s being generous.

Leave a Reply

