30 Days of Scent, Day Five: DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom

fresh blossom

Today I wore DKNY Be Delicious Fresh Blossom ($48-80, Kohl’s). I have a small (0.5 ounce/15ml) bottle of this that I received along with the matching body lotion in a swap. I’m not impressed with this one; I think it’s overrated and overpriced for what it is.

The official note breakdown on this one is as follows:

Top: Grapefruit, blackcurrant leaf, apricot
Heart: Rose, jasmine, lily of the valley
Base: Apple and woods

What I actually get out of it is apple, apricot, and generic floral, with a bit of soapiness from the lily of the valley. It reminds me of an Herbal Essences shampoo, which I don’t like, because I think they smell cheap and plasticky. I’m not averse to a fruity floral, especially one with a prominent rose note; Lancome Tresor In Love was my signature for a very long time, and the grapefruit-rose Dior Addict To Life is one of my favorites. But my thing is, I need a well-made fruity rose, and this isn’t one. I think they were banking on the popularity of the original DKNY Be Delicious to carry this one, and I don’t feel like it works.

I wore it today to an outdoor event, and I’ll grant that it was hot and would have put any perfume to the test. But even though I layered the perfume over the matching lotion, one person I hugged commented that they were surprised at me not wearing perfume, and after two hours I couldn’t even smell it on myself. I have body sprays from Bath and Body Works that cost me $5 for a similarly sized bottle and out-perform this eau de parfum. I’m deeply disappointed, and if I had been paying for it, I’d have never gotten this perfume. I’ll rank it 3/10 just because I’m feeling charitable and the bottle’s cute.

Leave a Reply

