Shoulda been my name, Mr. Cellophane…

“Cause you can look right through me
Walk right by me
And never know I’m there!”
–“Mr. Cellophane,” from the musical Chicago

A friend and I were talking about the idea of being looked up online by potential employers. I’m assuming that it’s less of a concern here in the Virgin Islands, where even the library doesn’t have a wifi connection. But this is me we’re talking about, and my curiosity got the better of me. Thus, at 3AM, I googled myself. I got through 11 pages of results, and the only ones that were actually me were my Amazon wishlist, my LinkedIn profile, and one of my stories. Made me feel a bit small, but not in a bad way. Rather, I was reminded that no matter how many whispers go on behind my back here at UVI, the outside world is not watching me nearly as closely. It’s a comforting thought to know that I’m only a freak to a bunch of teenagers who’ve never experienced anything beyond this tiny island.

One thought on “Shoulda been my name, Mr. Cellophane…

  1. Hehehe, I just Googled me and the only thing I came up with was courtesy of Di and Scribblers. It’s nice to know that I’m not that well known…yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

